My curriculum is going gaming

Garth’s CS Education Blog
My curriculum is going gaming

November 12, 2010

With all the blog discussions and statistics flying around it seems obvious we (the US education system) are having a little problem with attracting students into CS. Most intro books on programming just reinforce the stereotype that programming is about as exciting as watching grass grow. . . . This year I convinced the Programming I teacher to switch to Scratch and to make games. The gaming approach allows the kids to be artistic, imaginative, original and requires lots of planning.

Reading the whole post and the comments between Garth and me is worth your time – I think. There may be unsuspecting collaborations waiting down the hall in the computer science classroom. http://gflint.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/my-curriculum-is-going-gaming
Garth teaches in a “small Catholic high school in western Montana.” Missoula is my guess.

Leave a Reply

